Outdoor Highlights: April 4-April 7

Battle on the Bayou
April 7, Baton Rouge, La

Mississippi State's Tavaris Tate won in 45.45 (collegiate leader). Fellow teammate James Harris finished behind him in second at 45.58.
W-800: LSU's Charlene Lipsey won in 2:02.91 (collegiate leader)
M-800: Iowa's Erik Sowinski won in 1:47.02. Missouri's Ricky West was second in 1:47.30.
M-400 hurdles: Texas Tech's Jamele Mason won in 49.85.
M-4x400: Mississippi State won over LSU, 3:03.12-3:03.20

Duke Invitational
April 6-7, Durham, NC.

Duke decathlete Curtis Beach won in 1:47.99.


Florida Relays
April 6-7, Gainesville, Fla.

Coverage | Videos

Ole Miss' Ricky Robertson won the high jump in Saturday's Florida Relays in a world-leading mark of 7-7.25. (Jeff Adams)


M-4x100: Florida placed second behind Pure Athletics (38.64) in 38.91.
W-4x100: Clemson won section 2 in a season's best of 43.45.

M-HJ: Mississippi's Ricky Robertson wins in a world-leading mark of 7-7.25.
M-TJ: Florida's Omar Craddock placed second with a collegiate leader of 54-10.

M-110: Ronnie Ash
of Nike won in a world-leading time of 13.10w. Miami senior Devon Hill posted the fastest collegiate time of the day at 13.58 (seventh).

W-400: Florida teammates Lanie Whittaker and Ebony Eutsey produced the nation's fastest two times this season in 52.06 (second) and 52.07 (third). Francena McCorory of adidas had the fastest showing with a world No.2 performance of 51.56.
M-400: Florida junior Tony McQuay won in 45.65, equaling the nation's fastest time.

W-100 & 200: UCF freshman Octavious Freeman won in a world-leading time of 11.10. Freeman followed her 100 performance up with a collegiate leader in the 200 (22.80). Texas' Chalonda Goodman was second in 22.85.  
M-100: Florida senior Jeff Demps turned in the nation's fastest wind-legal time thus far at 10.11. Florida State's Kemar Hyman posted a career-best 10.14 for second.

M-Hammer: Virginia Tech junior Alexander Ziegler placed second in the men's invitational hammer with a national leading throw of 71.88m. Marcel Lomnicky (unattached) was the event winner in 77.43m. 

M-200: Florida State senior Maurice Mitchell sped to victory in a national-leading time of 20.08w. Mississippi's Isiah Young ran the second fastest collegiate time at 20.35c (third overall).

W-1500: East Carolina junior Brittany Copeland registered the third-fastest time in the nation at 4:18.39.

Illinois State University vs. Southern Illinois University
April 7

W-Discus: Southern Illinois' Jeneva McCall won in 192'9".





Pepsi Team Invitational
April 7, Eugene, Ore.

Oregon's Alex Kosinski won in 15:36.90 (collegiate leader). Texas A&M's Natosha Rogers was second in 15:45.80.

Princeton Sam Howell Invitational
April 6

M-3000: Princeton's Donn Cabral won in 8:39.92 (collegiate leader).
M-Hammer: Princeton's Conor McCullough won in 242'10" (collegiate leader).
M-3000 steeplechase: Dartmouth's Alexi Pappas won in 10:07.58 (collegiate leader).


Stanford Invitational
April 6-7, Palo Alto, Calif


M-3000: Illinois' Kyle Engnell placed seventh against the pros with a nation's leading time of 8:47.27. Kyle Heath of the Army took eighth in 8:48.06.

W-1500: Oklahoma State's Natalja Piliusina ran a national leading time of 4:14.3 for second (top collegiate finisher).
M-1500: Stanford's Chris Derrick was the top collegiate finisher in 3:41.17 (fourth).

W-5000: Arkansas' Kristen Gillespie placed 12th in 15:48.91 (national leader)
M-5000: Arizona's Stephen Sambu defeated a stellar field of pros to win in 13:31.51 (national leader)

W-10,000: Iowa State's Meaghan Nelson placed third and was the top collegiate finisher in 32:33.40 (national leader).
M-10,000: Oklahoma's Bill Kogel led the collegiates with a sixth-place finish in 28:39.54 (national leader)

W-HJ: Arizona's Brigetta Barrett won and improved her national-leader to 6-04.75.


Sun Angel Track Classic
April 5-7, Tempe, Ariz.

W-Javelin: Brittany Borman of Oklahoma won in 194'11" (collegiate leader).
M- Triple jump: Arizona State's Chris Benard won in 53'9".
M-Shot put: Arizona State's Jordan Clarke won in 63'11".
M-Discus: Nebraska's Chad Wright won in 198'5".
W-400 hurdles: Iowa State's Kianna Elahi won in 56.53.
W-Discus: Arizona State's Jeneva McCall won in 188'3".